Himu\’s Attempt at Blogging

Tidbits from my thoughts

Why Microsoft is so popular?

with one comment

The last time I used VB5 was back in the year 2000. I worked with VC++ and C++Builder during 2001. From then on, I have been working with Java (Eclipse, IDEA) without the AWT/Swing part. Java GUI always scared me.

Java SE, EE and ME have come a long way and J-lovers bark at Microsoft and .NET almost all the time. Yesterday, I wanted to make a list of files of a directory and decided to give VisualStudio (installed sometime ago) a try. To my surprise, I was able to develop a VB.NET windows application in just half-an-hour that allowed me to select a directory, list its files in a listbox and save it to a text file. I wanted to copy the list to the clipboard but that seemed like a bit of work.

So, after 6 years of Java programming, I was able to use VB.NET quite easily. The help system was indeed helpful. And everything seemed so intuitive. I hope Java GUI development will be that easy someday – or has it already?

Written by mhimu

November 29, 2007 at 10:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am trying to learn to work in J2EE and I know exactly what you mean! Why eclipse is so not intuited! And seams that java programmers don’t recognize a problem here!

    Acácio Bernardo

    January 22, 2009 at 8:02 pm


Leave a Reply

